DUI/Drunk Drving resulting in injury or death
The State of Rhode Island has laws that cover driving under the influence (DUI). However, the penalties increase greatly if the DUI involving to another person leads to injury or death. DUI cases with injury of death are considered felony charges. The penalties will result in more serious consequences and likely jail time. The defenses that are available in misdemeanor DUI cases are also available in felony cases. If you or a loved one are charged with a felony DUI you need a top DUI lawyer. The penalties are severe.
DUI resulting in serious bodily injury penalties
In Rhode Island, a DUI causing serious bodily injury is punishable by imprisonment for not less than one year and for not more than ten (10) years, a fine between one thousand dollars ($1,000) and five thousand dollars ($5,000) and a person's license may be revoked for a period of up to two (2) years.
DUI resulting in death penalties
A DUI death resulting charge, is punishable by imprisonment between five (5) years and fifteen (15) years, a fine between five thousand dollars ($5,000) and ten thousand dollars ($10,000) and revoked license for a period of five (5) years.
In all felony DUI cases, the State still must prove the case of DUI, in case of injury and death, the state must prove the DUI was the proximate cause of the accident.